The Premier of Bermuda

In 1968 the Bermuda Constitution came into effect. It transferred most powers from the British to a new government headed by a Premier (the leader of the majority party). The same year the first election giving all adults the right to equal votes was held. It was won by the United Bermuda Party (UBP).

The first Premier of Bermuda was Sir Henry Tucker, a direct descendant of the island’s first settlers. He held office from 1968 to 1971, when he resigned and was replaced by Sir Edward Richards, Bermuda’s first black Premier.

The United Bermuda Party held office until the elections of November 1998, when they were defeated by the Progressive Labour Party (PLP).

The PLP went onto win elections in 2003 and 2007. In the 2012 election they were defeated by the One Bermuda Alliance (OBA), a new political party formed by the merger of the United Bermuda Party and the Bermuda Democratic Alliance.

The current Premier is Craig Cannonier (OBA).

The table below shows all Premiers of Bermuda to the present day:

Sir Henry TuckerUBP10/6/68 - 29/12/71
Sir Edward RichardsUBP29/12/71 - 29/12/75
John SharpeUBP29/12/75 - 30/8/77
Sir David GibbonsUBP30/8/77 - 15/1/82
Sir John SwanUBP15/1/82 - 25/8/95
David SaulUBP25/8/95 - 27/3/97
Pamela GordonPLP27/3/97 - 10/11/98
Jennifer SmithPLP10/11/98 - 29/7/03
Alex ScottPLP29/7/03 - 30/10/06
Ewart BrownPLP30/10/06 - 29/10/10
Paula CoxPLP29/10/10 - 18/12/12
Craig CannonierOBA18/12/12 - present

Add Comment or Additional Information

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *